UKC

Confused about boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
arnie2001 09 Feb 2014
Hi all. I am very new to walking/hill climbing. Myself and my mate have decided to walk up Ben Nevis in June in aid of a local children s charity.
We are out most weekends climbing hills in Snowdonia, the lakes etc, etc, in order to get hill fit for our challenge.

We have kitted ourselves out in fairly decent gear. However, up to now I have not really spent much money on boots. I am wearing a rather cheap pair of Karrimor boots which I know are sub standard. I am looking at various boots on-line, but I am really not sure what type/brand/style boot is fit for the type of walking that I am doing. I am looking to pay between £100-£150 on a pair and I welcome any advice from people in the know.

Many Thanks
Richard
 blackcat 09 Feb 2014
In reply to arnie2001: for uk summer,spring,autumn,three season boots are fine,doesnt realy matter what brand as long as they fit well,pay a little extra and you get a goretex liner,im sure if you go to a decent outdoor shop they will give you more advise,nice your doing somthing for a good cause.

PPP 09 Feb 2014
In reply to arnie2001:

In order to answer which boots do you want, I would ask few questions before:
1. How heavy your rucksack tends to be? More ankle support would be needed if your rucksack is heavy.
2. Are you planning to stay overnight on the hills? I am not sure whether it is really important, though (it's just addition to first question, I suppose).
3. How many miles are you planning to walk?
4. Are you planning to head to unbeaten tracks? A little bit tougher boots might be required.
5. Do you prefer leather or fabric boots? It looks like they are really similar in all aspects.
6. Are you planning to walk in winter? If so, crampon compatible boots would be required.