UKC

yorkshire 3 peaks challenge

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RockAngel 10 Feb 2014
I want to do this challenge but Ive just seen that its 25 miles. I think I could probably walk some of it and run some of it (like the downhill bits!) and a crazy partner for it who put the idea in my head! It wont be until the summer so I have about 6 months to keep training for it. Really, is this possible? 25 miles sounds like a hell of a long way for a walk/run for a complete novice to running (got plenty of years hill walking). How long is the time limit for the challenge?
(I did 2km non stop today for the first time ever at the gym but am going out on Wednesday morning for a practise in the real world).
 teddy_simmon 10 Feb 2014
In reply to RockAngel:

Don't worry too much its quite achievable at a walking pace!

Its 26 Miles and the time limit for the challenge is twelve hours which is reality is just over 2 mile an hour. I managed it and would not say I am super fit and certainly cannot run 2km!!

Matt
 Mr Fuller 10 Feb 2014
In reply to RockAngel:

It's totally possible to do as you plan. I have walked it once (in about ten hours) and run/walked it once in 5 hours 10 min. You don't have to run all of it to gain massive time gaps over walking- run all the downhills and the road section and you'll fly along. No one normal runs the uphills! Get some running training in and you'll be fine.
 Mark Collins 10 Feb 2014
In reply to RockAngel: