UKC

Tax refunds?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CharlieMack 14 Feb 2014
Complete newbie question about tax return. As i've never recieved/applied for one. Just had an email from HMRC with a tax refund. Though they are asking for card details for the money to get paid into, along with estimated balance and security code of the card (which stinks quite strongly of a scam email)!

As i've never claimed tax back, i've no idea what i'm doing.
On a side note, i think it would be MASSIVELY helpful, if for, i don't know 1 lesson in my whole school life, they might have covered something about tax/returns/etc!!!

Only just found out this year at the age of 24 that i can actually do this! At no point have i been told before now that you just sort it out yourself. Always just assumed tax returns were for businesses or self employed.

Well done education system, thanks for making me miss out on probably hundreds of pounds!
 MG 14 Feb 2014
In reply to CharlieMack:

It's a scam!
 ByEek 14 Feb 2014
In reply to CharlieMack:

Definitely a scam. However, if you have worked for part of a year on a salary, you may be entitled to tax back since your monthly tax is calculated based on working for 12 months. If you only worked for say 6 months, you may have over paid. You can claim back several years worth. The first place to start is with your current HR department, or failing that, ring up the tax office and get advice there. It isn't too hard.
Ferret 14 Feb 2014
In reply to CharlieMack:

I'll assume this isn't a troll.

Any email of that sort is a scam. Simple as.