UKC

Would you take a less experienced partner to the Alps?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 alps_p 17 Feb 2014
A friend of mine suggested that he’d like to climb a mountain in the Alps with me in the summer. Would you say agreeing to that is a good idea, based on the following? I’m keen but want to assess the risks properly.

Me: several weeks (spread over several years) of alpine experience, including 2 times on Matterhorn Hornli ridge (1 unsuccessful attempt in winter, 1 successful in the summer). Matterhorn was the mountain we have been discussing. I have been climbing trad, ice, multipitch etc for about 7 years now. I know the techniques for abseiling, building anchors, etc. and have done about 4 weeks in total of various courses. Admittedly though my crevasse rescue skills are limited to knowing how to rope up on the glacier, and my avalanche and self-rescue skills are poor.

My partner: used to sport-climb up to French 6a grade, can abseil but alpine experience limited to having walked the Auguille du Midi ridge (before skiing Valle Blanche), and some scrambles at around 3000m altitude. Good fitness (3:10 marathon). We’re good mates and understand each other well.

If you were me, would you take my partner for a week of summer alpine climbing, aiming to do some acclimatisation + something like the Matterhorn Hornli ridge? Effectively committing yourself to be the more experienced team member, i.e. partner will rely on you if anything goes wrong?
As far as objectives go, Matterhorn has the obvious advantage of me having been on it twice, although the ridge is so huge and complex that I would still try to follow the guided parties on the way up.