UKC

Vehicle Conundrum

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 gingerwolf 20 Feb 2014
Dear UKC Massif

I'd like to know people's thoughts and opinions on this

I currently work as a physiotherapist in Kent, and all my Uni friends and climbing partners still live up north
I'd love to go out climbing more at the weekends to see them, but don't want to shell out for somewhere to stay

So I looked at getting a small van to sleep in the back of, Berlingo-esque vehicles.
However, I'm now not sure it's what I want, as I want a vehicle to use every day driving to and from work etc, but also long distance for peak/Font trips away
However all the vans in my price range (~£2000) are 100,000+ mileage and worn in, so I started to wonder whether I should look for a car that I could just sleep in the back of that had fold-flat seats etc, yet still relatively fun to drive (I currently have an old banger of a 1995 suzuki swift, but it's ace fun to drive!)

Any thoughts on an alternative vehicle or whether I should continue on my quest to find a small van?

Thanks
 The Potato 20 Feb 2014
In reply to gingerwolf:
i can comment on sleeping in a car - it gets very moist inside, so you end up opening the windows which can then let the rain in, difficult situation.
Ive slept in my astra estate a few times but probably wont bother again as it was dripping in the mornings, a tent is much easier to dry out and doesnt get as steamy.
Post edited at 19:06
 girlymonkey 20 Feb 2014
In reply to gingerwolf:

I have slept in a car and got on fine, but I am tiny so could sleep in a shoe box!! I had a van for several years, and loved it. My husband is tall, so a berlingo would have been a bit of a squeeze, so we had a scudo. It was big enough for us and kit, but we didn't kit it out as a camper as we regularly uses it to transport bikes etc. We just put roll mats on the floor and used sleeping bags. Personally, I'd go with the van, its just so convenient.
 antwan 21 Feb 2014