UKC

Blue Straggler, decompression from diving-free diving

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Al Evans 25 Feb 2014
I was just watching a docu on diving in the Amazon, it gets very deep, but not as deep as free divers go. A couple of them had to go on oxygen and were at risk from surfacing too quickly. I seem to remember when I did some diving about 40 years ago always being told to come up at the rate of the pea sized bubbles.
I could probably google this and get loads of technical info, but my question to you Blue is how do free divers manage to ascend so fast? Is there any danger of 'bends' when free diving or is it just because they don't stay down very long?
 David Barratt 25 Feb 2014
In reply to Al Evans:

I have no experience of this... but I think it is to do with the time spent down. A free diver presumably won't spend very long down there.
 Puppythedog 25 Feb 2014
In reply to Al Evans:

I would also assume that it is to do with the pressure at which they inhale the air. When you inhale at 40 metres the pressure of the air in your lungs and therefore going into your blood stream is not the same as at the surface. I believe it's to do with this but not dived for a while and would have to check my books.
 Blue Straggler 25 Feb 2014
In reply to puppythedog:

95% correct. The other 5% of correctness is in the second post.

i.e. mostly, freedivers can't succumb to the bends because the air pressure in their lungs never exceeds 1 atmosphere (whereas a scuba diver at 40m would take a breath of compressed air that is regulated to equal the surrounding water pressure, i.e. 5 atmospheres).
So the freediver at 40m can continue to hold that breath all the way to the surface and their lungs (which have been compressed at depth) will expand as the air expands, but will expand only to 1 atmosphere.