UKC

what drill for climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 6b-east 25 Feb 2014
just finished my leading intro at ratho,really keen to start climbing outdoors in the spring, anyone got any suggestions on what drill to buy?

i'm new to ukc so any suggestions would be much appreciated!
 Choss 25 Feb 2014
In reply to thephantombolter:

Hilti would be my Recommendation.
OP 6b-east 25 Feb 2014
In reply to Choss:

i've heard theyre quite expensive, its only for a local crag, nothing special.
 Choss 25 Feb 2014

> i've heard theyre quite expensive, its only for a local crag, nothing special.

Sure you can hire one for a weekend cheap enough with Spare batteries and all.
 Duncan Bourne 25 Feb 2014

strong smell of troll in here. Anyone got any goats?
 Mr Lopez 25 Feb 2014

Can't go wrong with one of these http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41-IN%2Bz0EbL.jpg
 FactorXXX 25 Feb 2014

I'd personally would look at getting a petrol one as battery ones run out too quickly.
 Hay 25 Feb 2014
I do hope your two posts are not related?

OP 6b-east 25 Feb 2014
In reply to FactorXXX:

do petrol ones really exist?
OP 6b-east 25 Feb 2014
In reply to Hay:

what do you mean by this? im looking for local crags near Edinburgh to climb at if thats what your asking, any suggestions?

Better get busy before the Independence referendum. I heard the SNP like Norway so much they are going to appoint an official Trollhunter.
Donnie 25 Feb 2014

he important question isn't what drill, it's where to drill? I reckon ratho quarry would be a good and convenient place to start. It's a shity old quarry where no one climbs trad as well, so no one will really mind if you make a mess of the place
OP 6b-east 25 Feb 2014
In reply to Donnie:

i was thinking something further away, something more wild. rathos a bit close to home!
 martinph78 25 Feb 2014

Try this http://bit.ly/1ljUgNP

JDal 25 Feb 2014