UKC

Annapurna Trek - what kit to take?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy S 27 Feb 2014
So me and a mate are going to trek to Annapurna base camp and I'm interested to hear from anyone who's done it, so they can advise on what kit to take.

We don't want to use a guide, because we've heard it's completely unnecessary?

We're both outdoor instructors by profession (ML Summers), so we're not new to walking, but we don't know what kind of temperatures we'll be dealing with and what the score is with accommodation along the way etc etc.

We're flying into Kathmandhu on Tuesday.

Cheers!
 The Ivanator 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Andy S:

There is plenty of online information on this. Annapurna base camp is at over 4000m so nights will be cold (well below zero)- it is quite early in the spring to do the trek so snow/avalanches may be a problem, there are some vulnerable sections on the route into the Sanctuary. At this time of year crampons and a walking axe might be useful, lodges (tea houses) are available all the way although not sure if they will be fully open for spring yet - suspect that they would want the business and put you up though. Lodge staff will be able to give you updates on the condition of the route ahead.
Hot Springs at Chommrong (at the entrance to the sanctuary) are worthwhile if they are open and have been restored after the winter.
 Darron 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Andy S:

A warm sleeping bag!
 IceKing 27 Feb 2014