UKC

Coping with 'paula'

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 lizard-16-07 07 Mar 2014

As per the title, 'paula' is the name I have affectionately(?) given to my problem of needing a number 2 en route when running. I've been running regularly for around 3 years now, at first my problem seemed to be the food I ate before running, and how soon I ran after eating. I've sorted this now, I have to leave about 3 hours after eating before heading out. This is fine for runs up to about 1hr45 (basically, a half marathon) but any longer, I need some more fuel, which in turn makes me need to 'do a paula.' My runs longer than that have been in the hills so far, where it is easier to 'stop and go' but still not ideal.

I'll be gearing up to do a road marathon in October, so if anyone has any tips on what to eat en route, energy gels etc, or if you've got any advice on keeping 'paula' at bay then I'm all ears. I've done lots of googling already but thought I'd open this up to the ukc collective as well.
Post edited at 13:16
 John Gillott 07 Mar 2014
In reply to lizard-16-07:

A bit of food on the run is triggering the need to remove something already there (it takes time to turn food into....)

Are you clearing yourself out fully before you go out? A couple of strong coffees first thing does me for the day I find.
 JayPee630 07 Mar 2014
In reply to John Gillott:

Coffee or green tea to start as mentioned, then not much for runs of an hour or so, and then just easily digestable things like gels. Longer runs that require proper solid food require toilet breaks built into them.
 TomBaker 07 Mar 2014

Fairly common problem my mate has. He never really found a way around it i'm afraid.
 Banned User 77 07 Mar 2014

No dairy.. or very little on race day. I had that issue dropped milk as the doc reckoned I may have very slight lactose intolerance, but enough to cause that.