UKC

changing car headlight bulb

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 d508934 07 Mar 2014
need to change one of my dipped headlights - just noticed on halfords site it recommends to always change both at once. never done that before, any reason to do so? understand it with brakes but not sure why it's needed with lights.

focus mk2 if relevant but suspect it's a standard statement on all their online bulbs
cheers
 Geoff F 07 Mar 2014
In reply to d508934:
I'm no expert, but I've only ever changed the one that's gone. Can't see a reason to change both. In fact I bough a pack of bulbs for my last car from Halfords which had one of every bulb in it!
Post edited at 13:48
 pebbles 07 Mar 2014
In reply to Geoff F:

nice try Halfords
In reply to d508934:

probably just a con to sell more bulbs. Logically though, it would be better if the bulbs has a staggered 'life' so they dont fail together.

But I know that babcocks only change the buld thats out on police cars...
 Choss 07 Mar 2014
In reply to d508934:

Sounds like a way to sell you more bulbs than you actually need.

But as ive just got a New motor, it has reminded me to get a set of Spare bulbs and fuses to keep in the glovebox. Cheers.
 Ashley 07 Mar 2014
In reply to d508934:

It's recommended as headlight bulbs get more yellow with age so that you have two headlights that are the same colour. Realistically it won't make a difference. Out of habit I normally change both and keep the old good one as a spare in the car in case one blows while I'm out somewhere.
OP d508934 07 Mar 2014
In reply to Choss:

out of interest how many spares do you carry i.e. front dipped and main, rear, brake lights, fog lights etc - quite a lot that are all kinda important really. this makes me realise i should carry spares but don;t want 15 different little boxes rattling around the glove box!
 Choss 07 Mar 2014
In reply to d508934: