UKC

Bolting advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
gerardmcmanus20 10 Mar 2014
I am the owner of a window cleaning company and would like to be able to install eye bolts on some buildings to attach lanyards, to enable us to work safely on flat roofs.

Unfortunately google has less than its usual helpful self. I thought the best person to point me in the right direction was a climber. I have some climbing experience, about 9 months before the birth of my now 6 month old baby girl, me and my wife were weekly visitors of the Glasgow Climbing center. So belaying and figure of eight knots are no problem for me.

What I am stuck with, is where to buy bolts and what type should be used on brick, or sandstone. I know drilled holes have to be thoroughly brushed out and cleaned with compressed air.

Allot of fall arrest kits for sale have huge hooks for scaffolding, what would be the best for this situation.
 martinph78 10 Mar 2014
In reply to gerardmcmanus20:

> I thought the best person to point me in the right direction was a climber.

Or http://www.irata.org/

You do realise that this will fall under a whole host of workplace regulations don't you?

crayefish 10 Mar 2014

I have no experience of bolting (I am sure people will be along soon who have) but I'd imagine that bolts into brick work, particularly any older crumbly bricks, would likely impart very high stresses into the bricks if fallen on; particularly if the lanyard is long, allowing the person to fall further. Thus I would guess you'd need quite a few of them which probably won't go down well with customers.
In reply to Martin1978:

I have read through all the relevant regulations, many window cleaning companys use fall arrest kits to conform with the Working at Heights Regulations.

Unfortunately the rules are often very vague and don't offer allot of practical advice.
 Andy Nisbet 10 Mar 2014