UKC

Sub 4 hour marathon

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Shapeshifter 14 Mar 2014
I'm doing my first and last marathon next month and I reckon from my training times, I'm looking at 4 hours +/- 10 mins. Any good tips on squeezing a few extra minutes out over the distance, as I'd really like to get in under 4 hours. Note I've mostly done distance work and almost nothing on intervals or thought much about nutrition.

Thanks.
 ClimberEd 14 Mar 2014
In reply to chubbs2:

Nutrition can play a big part, but start testing now to see what you can handle. - I would suggest a gel every half hour or hour.
If you get on with it, caffeine is also a big performance enhancer in the right dosage. Some people take it the whole way through, I tend to save it for the last hour of an event.

I'm not an expert (other on here know more than me) but you would probably benefit from some speed work for a couple of weeks, km or m intervals but I wouldn't do any in the 10 days leading up to the event.

lizard-16-07 14 Mar 2014
In reply to chubbs2:

I've found speed work to be beneficial, again, I'm no expert but intervals and fartlek training are a good way to change it up a bit. I've not done a marathon (one in october) but with the couple of halves I've done, some shorter fast runs were useful as well as the long steady distance.
 Al Evans 14 Mar 2014
In reply to lizard-16-07:

I think if you're not a pro, fartlek is a better way to go for a marathon than intervals, just put some sprints and some hills into your normal workouts, got me under three hours no probs. Now then under an hour for 10 miles, that's when I really needed speed work, intervals etc.
 The New NickB 14 Mar 2014
In reply to chubbs2:

How are you getting on with your longer runs? Distances / Pace. Are you running anything faster than target marathon pace? Are you using gels or anything now? During the race or even fairly close to the race is no time to test them. Personally I hate them.