UKC

Skiing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 AdCo82 17 Mar 2014
Evening all,

Just been reading a few links on Facebook and Twitter and it got me thinking.

Which of you literally just bought some kit and taught yourselves how to ski?

How did it go?
 AdrianC 17 Mar 2014
In reply to AdCo82:

I didn't literally buy gear and teach myself but I've skied a lot and had very few lessons - maybe about four in my life. I wouldn't recommend it - there's a definite "self taught climber" skiing style and it isn't pretty. Sure - if you really ski a lot you'll eventually polish away the worst of it but a few lessons early on and regular ones spaced through your skiing are probably a good idea.

Having said that, don't obsess with style. If you're having fun and can get down what you want to get down without butchering it then you're doing it right.
Tim Chappell 17 Mar 2014
In reply to AdCo82:

Two keys: (a) go with a mate who's better than you and accept his/ her advice, (b) go lots.
 DaveHK 17 Mar 2014
In reply to AdCo82:

Pretty much. Had a few lessons as a kid then bought touring kit 20+ years later.

Doubtless I would have been quicker in the long run getting lessons but it was a lot of fun working it out myself. I've spent a lot of time thinking very hard about what I was doing and watching other skiers both in the flesh and on videos.

Probably got lots of bad habits though.
 Edradour 18 Mar 2014
In reply to AdCo82:

> Which of you literally just bought some kit and taught yourselves how to ski?

This is how I learnt originally. Well, similar - I went with mates who could ski.

I have since had lessons.

I would recommend the lessons. I learnt more in 2 weeks of lessons than in all my previous skiing put together. Skiing with good technique is infinitely more pleasurable / enjoyable / efficient than 'just getting down' something.