UKC

PLEASE HELP Mountains in Europe.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Rummmer 28 Mar 2014
Hi,

I am looking to go traveling for 10-14 days in Europe around July time. I would like to walk up a mountain when I am there but unsure as to which ones. Mont Blanc is the obvious choice but I have no experience with ice axes and I am told these are required to summit.

Any recommendations/suggestions would be really helpful.

Thanks!
 drunken monkey 28 Mar 2014
In reply to alexrumsey:

Have a look at these mate:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GR_footpath

I've done most of the GR20 in Corsica which was great.
 drolex 28 Mar 2014
In reply to drunken monkey:

GR10 in the Pyrénées is the other obvious one in France. Now to other countries...
Rummmer 28 Mar 2014

Thank you.... I am googling it now. I should ad that I would like to walk above 4,000m if possible.
In reply to alexrumsey:

No worries - to get above 4000m you should really learn how to use crampons, at least 1 axe and prob some glacier travel etc.
Rummmer 28 Mar 2014

I live in deepest darkest Herefordshire in the Mud and Rain. I have been across Brecon quite alot and up to Scotland Ben Nevis and the Mamores Ridge, Snowdon a few times..... Always wanted to learn about using crampons ice axes etc but never really had the chance living where do.

Which is why a nice Hike/walk up to a high peak would be ideal.
In reply to alexrumsey:

Not saying it hasnt been done before, of course it has - but a 4000m peak for yer first time in crampons and using an axe could lend you to an epic.

A guide might look after you for a price though?
 silhouette 28 Mar 2014
In reply to alexrumsey: I think its a big mistake to get fixated on some or other number like "4000" just because its a "target" which can be bandied about with folk who aren't hillwalkers anyway. Far better to ask peoples advice about what are just great walks (which is what you have done of course).

mc2006 28 Mar 2014