UKC

Pushing my grades

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 keepguessing 05 Apr 2014

I'm 16 i have been climbing for 5 months and im on sighting at a 6b/6b+ in the gym any tips for pushing my grades into the 7's i have become a little obsessed with climbing at the moment i have started climbing with a bit more "style" and getting better with my technique. So in conclusion, any tips?
EDIT: When i say technique i mean throwing my body around i have the basic technique covered like not climbing with my arms but with my legs.
Post edited at 20:28
 Dandan 06 Apr 2014
In reply to sebflynn:

Keep climbing. Lots. Watch videos, read books, climb with better climbers or spy on the good ones at the gym and you will pick up some ideas of good technique, but mostly just keep climbing.
Get your BMI to somewhere near the low end of the healthy range if it isn't already.
Climb some more.
Don't worry about training schedules, campussing, system boards or any of that, you don't need it to get into the 7's and you are likely to just injure yourself.
Climb some more, and have fun!
 Nick Russell 06 Apr 2014
In reply to Dandan:

> Keep climbing. Lots.

Seconded. Make sure you mix it up a bit: a good variety of routes/bouldering, indoor/outdoor is better than doing the same routes at the same wall every week.
 ericinbristol 06 Apr 2014
In reply to sebflynn:

Learn how to redpoint. Climb with someone who already redpoints at least F7a. You will soon tick F7a.
OP keepguessing 06 Apr 2014
In reply to sebflynn: