UKC

Fire Doors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Chesher cat 09 Apr 2014
Are there any H & S bobs on here?

If a fire door has a sticker on stating the fact, should they be wedged open?

Had a trawl through the tinterweb but not found anything that states it shouyld not be done. We have an anal retentive H & S chap who has plastered stickers everywhere but wedges the door open. I want to challenge him on this.

Is there an exact H & S statement or similar?

Thanks for your help

CC

Ps - Don't get me started on how to fill out a form if you have a paper cut, though there are Micky Mouse plasters now in the 1st aid box.......

i want to challenge him on this!
 FesteringSore 09 Apr 2014
In reply to Chesher cat:

Certainly when I worked as a Facilities Manager a few years ago the wedging open of fire doors was a big no-no but I'm not sure where it's written.
 ByEek 09 Apr 2014
In reply to Chesher cat:
I work in a plush office. All the fire doors stay open but as soon as the fire alarm sounds, they are released and automatically shut. I also believe fire doors are built to pretty exacting standards. A fire door isn't a door with a "fire door" sticker on it.
Post edited at 08:28
Chesher cat 09 Apr 2014
It has a sticker on it. there is a BS 476 Part 22 or BS EN 1634 Part 1 which states what the door should be made off.

It does seem companies go a bit mental with signs and ihave no idea why. are we that thick not to pay attention when walking around?
 MG 09 Apr 2014
In reply to Chesher cat:

Of course it shouldn't be wedged open - it won't do its job of preventing fire and smoke movement if it is. The requirements for frequency and location etc. of fire doors are laid out in Approved Document B of the Building Regulations (google). Whether this explicitly says they shouldn't be wedged open is another matter...