UKC

Partner promiscuity

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Lucy (at home) 23 Nov 2001
John Horscroft wrote recently in his Climber column on the subject of choosing climbing partners:
"Perhaps there's a patron Saint of Climbing Lost Causes watching over us. Perhaps we are just brilliant judges of character. Or perhaps we are just lucky. But I reckon my days of climbing promiscuity are numbered and I'm going to stick to climbing with the missus, nail varnish and all."

This got me thinking about the number of times I have happily allowed myself to be belayed by a complete novice (only on routes I think I won't fall off of course!), and of an occasion when my partner went up the Aiguille d'Argentiere with a bloke he met in the campsite the night before.

Its funny though, I am quite happy to be belayed by novices, but won't allow myself to be led by someone I don't trust completely. Somehow, if I am leading, I can cope with the idea of a partner who is an unknown quantity, at least to a certain extent, I am in control?

Luckily my partner's illicit liason with Joe Bloggs from the campsite proved to be a good partnership. (Danny, please email us when the Ben is in!) But Danny had a cautionary tale. Earlier in the week he had agreed to go climbing with another stranger who had designs on the Forbes Arete. Off they went to their planned high altitude bivy, with Danny slightly peturbed to discover that his new partner needed to be shown how to put his crampons on. At the bivy site, his plucky companion produced a clean change of clothes, a smart shirt, jeans and a wash bag! For Danny, this partnership would last no longer than a one night stand and the beat a hasty retreat in the morning.