UKC

What To Do If Your Alpine Partner Pulls Out?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JohnBson 19 Apr 2014

My climbing partner has just pulled out of a trip to the Chamonix area for a month. It's great news as you can imagine as I totally haven't spent enough money to bail out RBS on kit, nor have I been looking forward to this as a welcome break after slaving away in my last year at Uni.

I have no previous alpine experience, just rock climbing, limited Scottish winter climbing and both summer and winter hill walking. I also have a good level of physical fitness, some military experience and I have read a huge amount about this.

We intended our trip to be a self taught adventure, progressing from F to AD climbs on some of Chamonix's finest routes, including Mont Blanc summit.

Has anyone got solutions to this? I am tempted to just go and try to pick up a partner, maybe solo something. Alternatively if you'd like to volunteer yourself please feel free. I may be able to provide transport, and possibly accommodation in a converted van.

Not interested in taking a guide as I have not got the money to burn.
Post edited at 19:04
 imkevinmc 19 Apr 2014
In reply to JohnBson:

You'll still have all the kit next year, so replan, gain some more experience and do it all next year with a new partner. Or the the same partner.
Life's like that.
 peebles boy 19 Apr 2014
In reply to JohnBson:

When are you actually heading to the Alps? The way you describe it, it sounds like you were leaving pretty soon?

If not, then, well, find another partner? If you're not heading out til summer that's plenty time to ask other friends who might be up for it, or find someone at your local wall, or someone off UKC, or join a climbing club and try to find someone, or do the month with a couple different partners if you can't get someone to commit to a month.

Just suggestions!
 JJL 19 Apr 2014
In reply to JohnBson:

You went to Uni at 15??
 Bruce Hooker 19 Apr 2014