UKC

Banned crag climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 yarbles 23 Apr 2014
There is a certain crag in my area I am v keen to do. Unfortunately the land owner isn't quite as keen.

I've checked the BMC website and discussions / negotiations are not ongoing, or at least not advertised. I fancy heading over to do some routes on the sly but don't want to bugger up a sensitive situation. I was planning on climbing outside bird nesting season (not that this is an issue) and would obviously be as discreet as possible.

Any advice on other precautions to take / way to go about it?

Yarbles
 Offwidth 23 Apr 2014
In reply to yarbles:

Go. If caught apologise and leave when asked.
 The Pylon King 23 Apr 2014
In reply to Offwidth:

> Go. If caught apologise and leave when asked.

+1

Do no damage and be polite.
 1poundSOCKS 23 Apr 2014
In reply to The Pylon King:

I'm no expert on land access and trespass, but if the landowner has banned climbing on their land, wouldn't it be better to respect their wishes?
OP yarbles 23 Apr 2014
In reply to 1poundSOCKS:

I think within reason, yes. However this crag is not near their house or garden and had a history of climbing before the new landowners bought it.
 1poundSOCKS 23 Apr 2014
In reply to yarbles:

Is that anybody's call to make though, except the landowner? Maybe they believe the ban to be totally reasonable.
 Offwidth 23 Apr 2014
In reply to 1poundSOCKS: