UKC

First trip outdoors, any advice?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
DiscoBoy 16 May 2014
Hello,

I've been climbing indoors for a few months now. I can do most V4 problems, sometimes higher, and lead climb around a 6a.

This weekend I'm going outdoors with the guys I climb with. They are a similar level to me indoors, and they have climbed outdoors a few times before, one of them has the gear for top roping and sport leading and he also does rope access stuff for a living, so safety wise we have it covered. We're going somewhere near Llangollen, to a place they've been before.

What are the top tips for someone moving outside for the first time?
 andy_e 16 May 2014
In reply to DiscoBoy:

A couple of things that spring to mind,

Walking around at the bottom of the crag can sometimes be more hazardous than the climbing.

The route reading is more subtle than indoors, and good footwork becomes more important than finger strength on grit, or slate!

Otherwise, enjoy your weekend away

tlm 16 May 2014
In reply to DiscoBoy:

Take waterproofs and suntan cream!

Have fun!
 Mal Grey 16 May 2014
In reply to DiscoBoy:

Don't be put off by how different it might feel at first. Start below your indoor grades, and build up steadily. And just enjoy the different feel of climbing in a lovely natural location.

Have fun!
DiscoBoy 16 May 2014
In reply to DiscoBoy:

Thanks everyone. That is all noted

I'm most worried about reading the routes: indoors it is usually obvious, I imagine it being much harder outside!
 tlm 16 May 2014
In reply to DiscoBoy:

> Thanks everyone. That is all noted

> I'm most worried about reading the routes: indoors it is usually obvious, I imagine it being much harder outside!