UKC

Bowline a safe knot?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 y2keable 23 May 2014
Does anyone have any objections to the bowline being an acceptable knot for tieing to your harness?

I'm only asking because my local wall banned them a while back and I've been getting shtick for using it. It's the only knot I feel comfortable with.
 Bob 23 May 2014
In reply to Jayson Keable:
The Bowline is fine. If you are comfortable with it then keep using it, if you have another wall close by then go to that and let the first one know why.

The usual excuse is that wall staff can't recognise a correctly tied Bowline - well train them to do so!

I should add that I've been using a Bowline for over 30 years without a hitch (pun intended).

The biggest potential problem with any tie-in knot is being distracted whilst tying it.
Post edited at 12:57
 Neil Williams 23 May 2014

A correctly tied bowline is safe. The problem is that an incorrectly tied one isn't. So always ensure you check and check again.

Neil
 pedrosanpb 23 May 2014

I use a bowline with a Yosemite finish (back through the main loop and up the rope and tied off with a stopper) and have never had a problem with it. Even better, I've never struggled to undo it even after repeated falls...

A safe knot only with a stopper or if constantly loaded without one. Ie you should never climb without a stopper. A fig8 is safe with or without with enough tail.
I will use bowline for all single pitch climbs but fig 8 for longer routes as the stopper can work loose if left alone.
 Offwidth 23 May 2014
In reply to Bob: