UKC

Crossfit in the UK

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Lurking Dave 27 May 2014

Half the world seems to be devoted to the Crossfit cult... but I get the impression that it hasn't really taken off in the UK?? (I could be wrong).

IMO, from a training perspective, most climbers would benefit from some decent cardio & working antagonists. Thoughts?

Cheers
LD
Post edited at 02:26
In reply to Lurking Dave:

I've been doing Crossfit for about nine months now, it seems to be pretty popular in the UK from what I've seen but I guess nothing like the US where it's been around a lot longer.

I find it works really well as complimentary training for climbing and mountaineering - I got my first Scottish V lead done comfortably this Winter past on a solid Crossfit fitness base. The whole Crossfit holistic lifestyle thing of training, eating paleo, basic self-physio, etc really suits me. I've never felt fitter. And none of my work shirts fit me any more. =o)
 planetmarshall 27 May 2014
It's fairly big in the UK, with the current female world champion (Samantha Briggs) being based at one of the Manchester gyms. I've trained at one of the Edinburgh gyms for about 2-3 years.

That said, CrossFit by design is not sport specific, so personally I don't buy into the 'whole CrossFit package', so to speak, and only use it as part of a more climbing-specific training plan. I also have some doubts about performing highly technical movements such as Olympic lifts for time.

Steve House's new book "Training for the new Alpinism" has a section on high intensity training, which is an umbrella term for most of the CrossFit workouts. It's worth a read for anyone serious about training for climbing.

Andrew.
Post edited at 11:43
Simos 29 May 2014