UKC

Future boredom cure

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I've just had the cartilage in my knee repaired and it looks like I will be out of action for a fair while. My leg is in a splint for the next two weeks but I can keep myself occupied for now I think. The bigger problem is going to be this summer. It's my first year of teaching and I was all ready to have a kick ass summer in the alps. Now that doesn't look so likely...

I need something to look forward to this summer, something that I can look forward to and will keep me occupied. Whatever it is, it's got some big shoes to fill now that climbing is out of the question. So far I have been thinking of learning drums (I play guitar and keyboard already), maybe getting into DSLR videography, or buying an Xbox and getting really fat.

Any other ideas?

David
 Timmd 27 May 2014
In reply to David Kirsfelds:

Swimming?
In reply to Timmd:

I will certainly go swimming as part of rehab and for fitness but I don't find it particularly engrossing otherwise. Also I normally get bored after a hour so it probably wouldn't fill the time very well.

David
 kathrync 27 May 2014

Is there any other sport (that is easy on the knees, obviously) that you fancy but have never tried? Might be a good time to book a beginners course and give it a go.

Kayaking was what sprang to my mind, but that depends on whether your knee is sore if you put pressure on it (you use your knees to control how far you edge the boat). Sailing might be another option, or I am sure there are other ideas you could come up with.
 groovejunkie 27 May 2014

It's gotta be the xbox option, drop about six grades and then come and join the knackered knee club and climb vdiffs with me! Obviously this won't help you at all, but it will make me feel better! Only joking (I meant diffs really), Just take it easy and you'll be back in action quicker than you think (and kicking our asses).

See you at the crag soon (or the pub). Mark