UKC

Overall Grip Strength

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
kamsy 30 May 2014
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner climber (been doing it just for a couple months). Although I consider overall a fit person, I would definitely not say I'm a strong one, especially on my arms and hands.

My hand grip strength is very poor, not to talk about my fingers, for example, when I do dead hangs on a pull-up bar I'm not able to stay there for more than a few seconds.

Do you recommend me any exercise to improve this, or it'll get better just by climbing and I shouldn't bother too much at this point?. I know that when you are a beginner you shouldn't care about specific things such as FINGER strength, but my whole hand grip strength sucks, so it's a little more general that finger grip strength I'd say (maybe not!).

Thanks.

Cheers,
Antonio.
Simos 30 May 2014
In reply to kamsy:

As a beginner, just focus on climbing Antonio and doing so in good form and technique. If not anything else, your technique is likely to be poor right now, so you can't even judge properly whether you are strong or not.

Your strength as a beginner will definitely get a lot better just by climbing. There will come a point where you'll start feeling that everything else is almost in place but strength is lacking and then perhaps you can consider more specific training but bear in mind that doing so too early will also increase your chances of getting injured - climbing is quite tough on some body structures and there is no easy way of short-cutting the adaptation period as these structures are not just muscles...
kamsy 30 May 2014
In reply to Simos:

Hi buddy,

Yeah, that just confirms my thoughts. I'll stick to the wall for a while and not worry about specific training.

Thank you.
 kwoods 30 May 2014
In reply to kamsy:

Agreed with Simos. Just climb (often in poss) and it'll come! It's only when progress starts tailing off will you have to start looking at specifics to keep improving.