UKC

Dewerstone deforestation

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Merlin 02 Jun 2014
Who ever carried out the clear up of the gully left of Vineyard at Dewerstone, I commend your effort!

I've been musing for a few years that the crag needed a napalm strike. Just needs 100 people scrubbing the thing with wire wool now to finish the job!
 james mann 02 Jun 2014
In reply to Merlin:

You can't be serious can you? The cleaning around that gully area is little more than vandalism, especially the way that the tree at the bottom of colonel's arĂȘte has been hacked away and then left all over the bottom of the crag. Like it or not this is a tree which has fresh flowers placed on it each week; think about why that might be! Whoever has been cleaning in this stupid piecemeal way needs to remember that the Dewerstone is owned and managed I think by the National Trust (don't quote me on that though) and that this kind of indiscreet hacking away in obvious areas could have the effect of jeopardising future access, not to mention destroying habitats and looking f***ing awful. I am in agreement that certain routes do need a clean. I have cleaned La Bete Noire up on the upper buttresses and have also climbed a new line up there this week as well as helping to clean a new line climbed by Will Hornby. Whilst these lines have involved some removal of vegetation it nothing compared to the ill considered hacking away down at the bottom. If people do wish to clean some things then there is loads of stuff on the upper buttresses to go at.

James Mann
 jsmcfarland 02 Jun 2014
In reply to mann9076:

I think the OP was being sarcastic, though I may be wrong
 Nick GP 02 Jun 2014
In reply to Merlin:
Clean up!? The way this botch job has been undertaken is apalling. If everyone went about cleaning stuff in that manner at the Dewerstone there would be no bushes or trees left at the crag.