UKC

Decisions, decisions... PhD and climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Trevers 03 Jun 2014

So I've been unofficially offered a PhD position.

Three years ago, when I completed my masters, I wouldn't have thought twice before accepting. It's with a great research group at a good university working in an exciting field of physics on an experiment that could have very interesting results in a couple of years time. So why aren't I terribly excited?

I wasn't a climber then. I am now, and I'm worried that doing a PhD will get in the way of me being able to climb. More to the point, I'd like to be going on extended climbing trips (week plus) to Scotland or abroad several times a year. I'm worried that I'll lose that. Is there anyone who's done a PhD and managed to continue going on climbing trips?

(Climbing isn't my only concern but it's one of them)
Post edited at 23:06
 Jon Stewart 03 Jun 2014
In reply to Trevers:

Surely doing a PhD is way more flexible than having a job? What are you options, PhD versus full time climbing bum?
In reply to Trevers:

Do the PhD. It's an unequivocal achievement and you can still get some climbing in. Plus, your earning potential will go up (although not by very much), so you'll be able to go on better trips in three years' time.

None of my mates who did PhDs seemed to have a problem with taking SERIOUS amounts of time off. And one day you'll be 43 and wishing you'd done a PhD before the kids and the mortgage and all the other accoutrements of life

Martin
 pog100 03 Jun 2014
In reply to Trevers:

Unless you have a total bastard as a supervisor, I can think of few other occupations better suited to mixing with climbing. Witness the hundreds of people on these forms with PhDs.
 stella1 03 Jun 2014
In reply to Trevers: