UKC

GPS device beginner questions, iPhone instead of GPS?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 alps_p 11 Jun 2014
Hello,

We're going hiking in Albania and so far only have 1:25000 topographic maps. I'd like a GPS device, or, ideally, something on my iPhone to replace that. I've never used such a thing before, and don't really know what to look for, etc.

(1) in general, can iPhone serve as a perfect replacement for GPS? Assuming I purchase the necessary apps and maps to use in off-line mode
(2) if not, how much should I expect to spend on a GPS device which has some mapping functionality on it? Any recommendations?
(3) I've seen people recommend the Viewranger app for iPhone, but that one, for example, doesn't seem to cover Albania. For the more remote parts of the world, where do people generally get their iphone/GPS maps from?

thanks
 krikoman 11 Jun 2014
In reply to alps_p:

GPS uses a lot of battery so you Iphone won't last long.

I've used Garmin and Bryton (cycle computer and GPS) but I've just bought a IgotU from Maplin in a sale £24!!! it works great battery life is around 70 hours.

No display but the software is very good, I wasn't expecting much, maps, export, editing. GPS picks up quickly too.

No good for navigating with, no screen, nice to see where you've been and details such as altitude, pace etc.

It's sold as a photo locator, the idea being you press the button when you take a photo and you have location for your photos, which is all done automatically once you synchronise the clocks on camera and GPS.

If you want navigation I us "Maps with Me" app but that's android, all offline maps and nav. too with GPS.
OP alps_p 11 Jun 2014
In reply to krikoman:

thanks. I'd like something for navigation though. With the right maps, and having sorted the battery lifetime issue, does iPhone work just as well as a dedicated GPS device?

Aigen 11 Jun 2014
In reply to alps_p: