UKC

New climber- Matterhorn - looking for advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
guam737pilot 11 Jun 2014
Hello from Guam!
I am new to mountaineering and have a goal to climb the Matterhorn (up the italian side and down to hornli.
I am 37 years old, fairly athletic, thin but out of shape. I grew up near mountains and have a bit of rock climbing experience, but that was years ago! Now i would struggle to do 10 pullups. I could run a slow 10k but that is about my limit as of now.
Is this a realistic goal? How would you recommend I prepare? I have 12-13 months- My current plan is to work on strength training, cardio and core strength at first. i will do lots of hiking with a weighted pack (not much hiking in guam!). Then I am planning to do a guided Mt Rainier climb in the US early next summer.
For the actual trip I plan on doing an acclimatization climb. How long of a trip will I need to plan? Wouldnt climbing earlier in the week tire me out for the matterhorn climb?
Any tips about any part of the trip would be greatly appreciated!
 Kid Spatula 11 Jun 2014
In reply to guam737pilot:

You'll need to be decent at rock climbing above all of those things to be honest. It's a very long low grade rock climb with tricky route finding and you have to climb down everything you've just climbed up.
 Simon4 11 Jun 2014

For the technical details of the Matterhorn, it is best to search for the many, many threads on this subject (just enter "Matterhorn" in the search box on the top right). The Italian arete (I have not done it, or only the very top part of it), is mostly a quite long semi-technical route, with numerous fixed ropes, can be very exposed. Do not dismiss the seriousness of descending the Hornli arete, it is never very hard but seldom easy and more or less continuously serious - you never stop semi-climbing and it is sometimes quite full on.