UKC

What's Your Oldest Bit Of Kit Still In Use.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pyreneenemec 24 Jun 2014
Out the other day, I realised just how long I'd been using my Camp technical ice-axe. I bought it in 1979 at the 'Barn Door' ( if that's the correct name) at Wasdale Head. It's got a fibre-glass shaft, so I'm just waiting for someone to tell me that I've been risking death for the past 25 years.

My Ultimate Tramp 1 tent still sees an occasional outing. It's great for a lightweight bivvy ( just the fly). I bought it in the Spring of 1980 for a few months of cycle-touring around Europe.
 top cat 24 Jun 2014
In reply to Pyreneenemec:

FiFi hook, 1979? New tape on it though.
small tube for liquid soap, 1975ish

Still got off cuts from a 1976 Karrimat, but too small to use camping now.
1971 tent that I still use as a tarp [so not really a tent anymore]

maybe others, I'll have a think!
 gd303uk 24 Jun 2014
I still use now and again my old Trango I extreme, ( made in Britain ),
scarpa manta hs12 boots, And some very old RP brass nuts .All roughly over 25 years old and in good condition. The RP s are out with me every time I climb.,
My stuff is juvenile compared to the op and above posts kit though
Post edited at 16:12
Lusk 24 Jun 2014

I think I've got one those, green shaft?
Got it July '78.
OP Pyreneenemec 24 Jun 2014
In reply to Lusk:

> I think I've got one those, green shaft?

> Got it July '78.

No, it's blue(-ish).

Faded, like it's owner !
Lusk 24 Jun 2014

Just had a look, mine's a Stubai Manaslu, lime green!

Adrian Daniels 24 Jun 2014

I still take my 'lucky' MOAC out every time. Its been re-threaded a few times but I think I bought it in about 1973.
 Denzil 24 Jun 2014
In reply to top cat:
> Still got off cuts from a 1976 Karrimat, but too small to use camping now.