UKC

Walking: The Highland Upland Glen Side Way (#TheHUGSway500)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
AWP_Highlands 03 Jul 2014
Hello everyone!

I am AWP_Highlands (my Twitter name) and I work as a hydro-geologist for the Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA) having previously worked for the Environment Agency. I moved to Inverness from Ipswich after falling in love with the Scottish countryside during a walking and skiing holiday which I also get to explore with my job. I am a keen and prolific hiker having completed both the West Highland Way and Speyside Way in the last 12 months and having completed, to date, 21 Munros (I plan to do them all over the coming 36 months). I have also scaled and completed many other peaks and treks in both Europe and North America.

I have posted on here as I want to know your opinions and thoughts on a hike I am considering undertaking. Next summer I plan to undertake all four official Scottish long distance routes consecutively i.e:

The Speyside Way
The Southern Upland Way
The West Highland Way
The Great Glen Way

The initial plan is to walk the Speyside way first travelling south then the Southern Upland way travelling West then the West Highland way North. At this point I feel it would be fitting to climb the Ben Nevis which will capture the essence of the trip and then travel North East on Great Glen way finishing in Inverness. I am going to call this hike:

The Highland Upland Glen Side Way

and will refer to it on twitter as:

#TheHUGSway500.

The route including the Ben Nevis accent and decent is 475 miles. Considering inevitable diversions and spurs the trip is likely to be in excess of 500 miles, hence this figure in the name.