UKC

Linkedin and Local SEO

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 goldmember 16 Jul 2014
Work has demanded that we get a company presence on Linkedin to hopefully generate some leads and new business. I have been tasked with getting it up and running.
I'm still quite new to Linkedin but have managed to set up a company page. However having done some reading we could do with having more followers/likes to stimulate some debate and clicks on the homepage. Does anyone have any experience of using Linkedin for companies? Any tips? Warnings? Advice? All gratefully heeded

Next up is the use of google and local SEO. Any success stories?

Iā€™m only to aware they these can be very powerful but can also be a massive drain on time and resources.
 Bob 16 Jul 2014
In reply to goldmember:

Not sure on the Linkedin part but for SEO in general you need your web pages to be properly structured using the appropriate HTML tags, don't stuff keywords and aim to get inbound links.
 Scarab9 16 Jul 2014
In reply to goldmember:

SEO requirements change regularly as the search engines do, though Google (being the most used and therefore emulated too) while not giving official "how to" information keep to the stance that they look for good, relevant web contact rather than someone who's followed a tick list of inclusions such as html tags.

That doesn't mean the old school stuff such as HTML tag and keyword manipulation aren't worth doing (and there's a variety of guides for this online, though that will come down to whoever designs your company website), but that
1/ they're not as important as SEO 'experts' make out
2/ there's no secret voodoo behind SEO

What it really comes down to is having other sites linking to your content (because it's relevant, interesting, worth reading, answers questions raised etc). Preferably sites that are already popular with plenty fo traffic and high up on the google lists.