UKC

Approach shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MatthewV 16 Jul 2014
I'm thinking about getting some approach shoes for walk-ins rather than my rather old and heavy Scarpa walking boots. But, I've never used them before, so:

i) should I expect to wear thick hiking socks, or just normal socks (obviously critical to what size I get!)

ii) beyond "comfortable fit", what should I be looking for? Any brands to like/avoid?

Thanks
 Ava Adore 16 Jul 2014
In reply to MatthewV:

I've had my Evolv shoes for some years now and they've always served me well. They're also good for scrambling as they have Evolv rubber (or maybe that's just an illusion in my head). I wear walking socks - so somewhere between "normal" socks and thick hiking socks.
 Droyd 16 Jul 2014
In reply to MatthewV:

Needle Sports are currently doing 5.10 Domes for £50 - seemed to me like a good price, so I bought myself a pair and found them to be excellent. For reference, I take a UK 8.5 in the new Pinks and 9 in the Whites, got the Domes in 8.5 and found them to be a good fit with normal socks.
 CharlieMack 17 Jul 2014
In reply to MatthewV:

+1 for half domes. The tread initially wears down fast. But then lasts ages. Great shoes! And 50 quid for approach shoes with rock rubber these days is a steal.
 Ava Adore 17 Jul 2014
In reply to Ava Adore:

Doh! Meant to say 5.10 approach shoes, not Evolv!
 lcullum7 17 Jul 2014
In reply to MatthewV:

If you want shoes to walk in to crags, carry up for walking off then I'd disagree with the above posts. A lot of 'Approach Shoes' made by climbing manufacturers are actually pretty poor for walking in as they have soles and treads more suited to climbing, the 5.10 Guide Tennies for example are rubbish on grass, mud etc. That's not to say they are poor shoes,if you want to use them for easy climbs, scrambling then they're brilliant.