UKC

Brand New to Climbing looking for a partner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ru-th2423 16 Jul 2014
Hi,
I'm a complete novice at climbing and I'm looking for a partner. Are there any good places /websites to find people who are at the same ability as me who might also need a partner? Started off at my local climbing wall.

Noticed that my arms get tired very easily, what are the best strength building exercises to help with this?

Thanks in advance

Ruth 😊
 Richt79 16 Jul 2014
In reply to Ru-th2423:

Most climbing walls run a kind of meet and greet or social night, which wall do you use?
OP Ru-th2423 16 Jul 2014
In reply to Richt79:

I live in Wrexham... Plas Power. 😄

I have left my details on a teeny weeny post it note on their notice board...

I'm very new to it, but seems to be good fun and requires thinking which is always good
 Jon Stewart 16 Jul 2014
In reply to Ru-th2423:

The lifts and partners forum on here can be a pretty good place to start - if you're specific about where you want to go climbing and when/how often.

Find out about local clubs is also a standard answer (never been in one myself).

As for strength-building exercises the answer is simple: climbing! When you start out, by far the best thing you can do is go climbing regularly and not worry about trying to do pull-ups etc. Just start on easy routes and work your way to harder stuff over time. Bouldering leads to quicker progress in strength than stuff with ropes. Have fun!
 climbwhenready 16 Jul 2014
In reply to Ru-th2423:

Local walls/clubs I find are the best. I once registered on a website called climbfind, but never used it, so I don't know if it's any good.....