UKC

Going back into education/academic references

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tall Clare 18 Jul 2014
Hello,

I know there are lots of academic types on here so I thought I'd run this by you (and I do already have a plan in place!)

I'm putting in an application for a Masters at the moment, and one of the things it asks for is two academic references. I graduated sixteen years ago so there's nobody at my old university who'd be able to give that reference. I've spoken to the university I'm applying to and they say it isn't a problem, they just need someone who can vouch for me having been there - is that how it works everywhere?

Also, having (finally) read some relatively fine print, it turns out I have to sort out my own references, i.e. getting people to fill in the form. That seems like an unusual way of going about things - is it common practice?
 Noelle 18 Jul 2014
In reply to Tall Clare:

This sounds similar to me although less time had elapsed. I applied to an Irish Uni to do a PhD after a gap of about 8 years. (I had originally graduated from Manchester.) There were similar hoops to jump through, with two sealed references required with accompanying forms.

I was lucky enough to still know a few people from my undergraduate years and they helped me track down two of my lecturers. One had moved to Canada and the other was near California, so there was a bit of forward and backward posting of forms. One form had to be sent twice because I stupidly forgot to sign it!

You might be able to ask your previous Uni where some of your lecturers or personal tutor are now/at last known institution?

Good luck though. It was the best decision I ever made! (Saying this with 2 months to go...)
 Coel Hellier 18 Jul 2014
In reply to Tall Clare:

> I've spoken to the university I'm applying to and they say it isn't a problem, they just need
> someone who can vouch for me having been there - is that how it works everywhere?