UKC

Any medics interested in trauma and orthopaedics? Elective

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 climbin_chris 19 Jul 2014
Hi all,

I am looking for some advice. I have my medical elective coming up 16thmarch to 24th April and I am looking for a good placement outside of the UK.

I have an interest in emergency medicine, trauma and orthopaedics and prehospital care.

I would like to get the most out of my placement from a medical point of view but it would be great to go somewhere where I can get some good climbing done or generally get out into the great outdoors! I realise this will be one of the last opportunities I will have to travel to a country for an extended period of time so I want to make the most out of it!

Ideally I need an English speaking destination so not to limit the medical experience I can gain so this already limits a lot of destinations. I mostly sport climb and boulder and am partial to some DWS. I am a ski instructor but I think it will be near impossible to find a placement that is English speaking and has some snow, but open to suggestions!

Do any of you have any recommendations of hospitals or destinations to look into? Or even better any contacts or personal experiences to share?

Many thanks for any advice you can offer

Chris
 Bee_1 19 Jul 2014
In reply to climbin_chris:

Hi Christ, I'm a fellow 4th year medical student, I'm currentley half way through my elective.

I know it's not abroad, but I've literally (yesterday!!) just finished a 4 week elective placement at the ED in Bangor, North Wales. I had an amazing time, and it's a fab location for climbing! I went out pretty much every day and just worked in the evenings, a benefit to working I. A department that operates 24hrs a day!