UKC

Cams v Bolts

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hyphin 27 Jul 2014
Not just stirring the proverbial here (NB did say not JUST), I am a bit of a newbie so there is a bit of genuine "well other folk must be thinking it".
Just read another post about a hold being lost on a classic climb, suspect that this and many others will be lost due to the forces exerted by cams when fallen on. The hold, and presumably the placement is lost though. Would it have been so terrible if someone had placed a bolt nearby, on an inconspicuous bit of the rock that tends not to be an integral part of the climb. The more experienced, more skilful, more purist could ignore it and place their own protection, take the stick if they lob and break something; mere mortals could clip the bolt.
I'm not suggesting that every placement should have an alternative bolt, just the most vulnerable.
The question then is, have cams destroyed more classic climbs than bolts?
 MaranaF 27 Jul 2014
In reply to Hyphin:

I do hope you have a thick skin!

btw... im with you on this one
 Bob 27 Jul 2014
In reply to Hyphin:

Holds that come away are rarely those used for gear placements so it's a bit of a non-question really. Usually the holds that come off are small flake edges - imagine half a small plate stuck to the wall - which don't take gear. There have been occasions where gear, not necessarily cams, behind larger flakes weaken or break part of the flake.

The "you don't have to clip the bolt" reasoning doesn't make sense as just having the bolt there means the level of commitment required for the route has been lost.
 Steve nevers 27 Jul 2014
In reply to Hyphin:

> The more experienced, more skilful, more purist could ignore it and place their own protection,

It doesn't really work like that though. Even the more experienced, more skilful and more purist will still clip a bolt if they bottle it.
The fact its even an option changes the 'headgame' substantially.