UKC

Where to climb in Europe?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 tim_rich 29 Jul 2014
I have a few weeks holiday I want to do somewhere I can meet new climbing partners and get strong doing lots of climbing. Tonsai looks perfect but too expensive for me. I'm in London and looking for somewhere to go in Europe. Can anyone recommend anywhere?

thanks
 3 Names 29 Jul 2014
In reply to tim_rich:

Ceuse
OP tim_rich 30 Jul 2014
Some more info:

I'm fairly new to outdoor climbing and have never lead outdoor.

I am planning to go at early september for a month
OP tim_rich 30 Jul 2014
Anyone have any other suggestions?

Are there any popular climbing hostels / campsites people know of?
Suebynet 30 Jul 2014
In reply to tim_rich:

Ecrins national park - around La Berade in particular has great climbing. Easy to get to as well- 2 hours from Lyon
 3 Names 30 Jul 2014
In reply to tim_rich

In that case I reckon Kalymnos is your best bet
OP tim_rich 30 Jul 2014
In reply to 3 Names:

Great, thanks for the recommendations
 proandras 30 Jul 2014
In reply to 3 Names:

If place as far and hot as Kalymnos could go, I would consider Paklenica Gorge at Starigrad near Zadar, Croatia.
 Rog Wilko 30 Jul 2014
In reply to tim_rich:

Although September might still be rather hot in Kalymnos (October is the best month) it would suit you well. There are masses of good routes at all grades, and if you get accommodation in or near Massouri you'll not need to hire transport and there will be hundreds of other climbers so you should find people to climb with.
 henwardian 30 Jul 2014
In reply to tim_rich:

If you have never climbed outside before, I wouldn't recommend picking up a partner at the campsite or the crag. I'd recommend getting some outside experience under your belt with someone you know well first and trying to find a partner before you go.