UKC

am i risking my body to an injury?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Juandlc 30 Jul 2014
i started training for a boulder competition some months ago, i started with a soft training in a hangboard, after some weeks, the training routine felt too easy for me, so i decide it to make it harder, i trained 1 month with that new routine and i decide to make it harder again because it felt easy again (that was 3 days ago), i tried my new training session and after training i felt pain in one of my fingers and in one of my arms. i had rest for 3 days and today the pain in my arm is getting better but my finger still hurts.
is this because im training harder than i need? or just because im not used to use the little holds (like the 1/2 inch 3 finger pocket)?
 humptydumpty 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Juandlc:

Might be something broke.
 Ian Broome 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Juandlc:

The beastmaker chaps talk of adaption to fingerboarding taking months and years, rather than weeks. I'd go steady. You've maybe tweaked a finger or something. Maybe just do the odd harder pull thrown into a normal session whilst your still adapting to that routine.

Juandlc 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Ian Broome:

ok, thanks for the info
im going to stop my training for now and im going to visit the doctor.
 Pete Dangerous 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Juandlc:

Which grades are you climbing and which board are you using?
 Timmd 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Juandlc:

It definitely sounds like you could be risking an injury.

Juandlc 30 Jul 2014
In reply to Pete Dangerous:

im climbing 5.12d / 5.13a
and im using this hangboard:
http://www.metoliusclimbing.com/images/Project-Board.jpg
In reply to Juandlc:

That seems a reasonable board for that grade. Maybe you just went too hard too soon. Which exercises were you doing? Deadhangs, repeaters, frenchies?