UKC

Scottish ice mentors? Mid-Feb til spring 2015

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
LaurafromCanada 31 Jul 2014
Hello!

So this is a total long shot, but I figured I would give it a go anyways!

My name is Laura, I'm 26 and from Alberta, Canada. I absolutely love waterfall ice climbing, and am starting to get into ski touring, alpine climbing and mountaineering. While I do enjoy rock climbing too, I work in the forestry industry, and therefore my summers are fairly well occupied with intense fieldwork. Summer time off and training hard for rock climbing missions is pretty well impossible....yet, winters I can usually take quite a bit of time off. Hence part of why I found ice climbing to be the perfect winter hobby!

I am considering coming to Scotland for a couple months of climbing this winter. Yes, I know I have the Canadian Rockies practically in my backyard...but I am keen to do some traveling on my time off and definitely keen to check out, experience, and learn in a totally new playground! However, I am hoping to keep trip costs fairly low in order to extend the length of my trip, and also, I don't know any climbers over there. So here is what I propose as an idea:

Would anybody be interested in signing up for 1-3 months of climbing adventures in Scotland/surrounding areas this winter? I am committed to work until February 1st but after that my dates can be very flexible. Currently I can lead WI3 ice confidently, WI4 is coming along, mixed I don't have a lot of mileage in (but enjoy!), and second up to WI5+. Love to give belays I have all my own gear including a lightweight ski touring setup.