UKC

O.S. Getamap

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Moley 18 Aug 2014
My renewal subscription for ordnance survey getamap is due (£18.95), I really use it to print off sections for walks/runs which are easier to use than carrying the whole OS map etc.

Wondered if there are any better options at around that price? I don't think getamap is that great, but kind of OK. I'm not technical and don't have a GPS or anything to download. Just paper and compass for me.
KevinD 18 Aug 2014
In reply to Moley:

not an answer as such but if you renew OS getamap before midnight today and use GAMAUG you get 20% off.
 ByEek 18 Aug 2014
In reply to Moley:

Why not just use Bing maps and print them off for free? Not that I would ever encourage anyone to do that of course!
 climbingpixie 18 Aug 2014
In reply to Moley:

I have the os map app on my phone and use that when I'm out cycling. It's great if you have mobile signal as you can use it with gps as well. I usually take screenshots as well so that I'm not stuck if I can't get any signal. It's much better for me than carting around maps in my pocket and it only cost £2-3.
Moley 18 Aug 2014
In reply to climbingpixie:

Don't have a mobile phone, no signal at home so never bothered.
Ferret 18 Aug 2014
In reply to Moley:

I'm a recent convert to OS getamap after years using 'genuine' maps or faffing about printing things off internet. I wouldn't go back now as I haven't found anything to touch it in terms of the sheer quality of OS Maps vs the generally lower quality (not surprisingly) on line stuff.

For the quality £18 per year is pretty outstanding. You could of course spend a year printing (and laminating?) pretty much anything you can conceivably expect to use and then have a few years off.