UKC

Anchor Set-up Approval Needed.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 WayneB 24 Aug 2014
Hello,

This will be my first post. I have been climbing at my local climbing wall for the past 6 months or so, on top rope and bouldering.

I'm really enjoying it, so now I'm going out to climb at Bowles Rock in Sussex to get some real climbing. I'll be getting an hour and a half with an instructor and think I'll probably be good to set out on my own (with other climbers) after that so I want to have the equipment to do so. On the Bowles website they said all you need is - "...just a rope, two harnesses, some karabiners, a couple of slings and a belay device." I think I may have this stuff, although after reading through pages and pages about setting up anchors I've become unsure about if my set-up is going to be correct or not.

I took a photo but I can't see that I can upload one here so I'll try to explain what I have - I'm envisioning 2 anchors bolts where I'd be clipping an oval screw gate karabina on each, they would each have a sling and the 2 slings meet at a quick link that the climbing rope goes through.

Does that makes sense? Would that be safe?

Thank you for any advices anyone can offer.
 Otis 24 Aug 2014
In reply to WayneB:

What you've described above isn't a million miles away (although I'm not sure what you mean by a quick link.... a carabiner will do the job where the slings meet.

However, there are a few subtleties in setting up an anchor, which I'm sure you'll be able to discuss with your instructor and build knowledge on. For the style of anchor you are suggesting (or any anchor for that matter), some of the things to think about are:

- Use screwgates throughout your anchor system.
- Consider the direction the anchor will be loaded in and arrange it accordingly.