UKC

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
nearula 02 Sep 2014
I am new to hiking and I prefer hill climbs to long flat walks

My balance isn't the best so I don't really fancy "proper" climbing where you need ropes...etc

I was wondering if someone could suggest some challenging climbs around Lancashire / Yorkshire which don't require climbing gear with minimal danger

Also is there a word for stiff hill climbing without ropes and no real danger?

Let me know

Thanks
Richard

GrahamUney 02 Sep 2014
In reply to nearula:

Hi Richard. Yes, it's called hillwalking.

Graham
In reply to nearula:

those hills between lancs and Yorks i.e. the Pennines are a good challenge, just make sure you can navigate well before heading out on to them though, or go with someone else who can do all that!
 ByEek 03 Sep 2014
In reply to nearula:

There are loads. Just pick an area and buy a map - or borrow one from your local library. Pendle 'ill in Lancashire or one of the three Yorkshire Peaks (Wernside, Ingleborough or Pen-y-gent) are all good days out with decent views at the top.
In reply to nearula:

My first hillclimb was the main ridge on Fleetwith Pike in the Lake District. Sufficiently steep and exposed to give a complete novice some excitement but easy enough for anyone to do. For dramatic and exciting hills I always turn to the lakes, you're much closer than me so enjoy
Simos 03 Sep 2014
In reply to nearula:

One level 'up' in difficulty from hillwalking you have scrambling I guess, maybe try some very easy scrambling too?
 Chris Murray 03 Sep 2014
In reply to Simos:

Un-roped scrambling is one of the more dangerous ways to experience the mountains, especially for the inexperienced.
 Brass Nipples 03 Sep 2014
In reply to nearula:

Pendle Hill is a good old ascent.
 The Lemming 03 Sep 2014
In reply to GrahamUney:

> Hi Richard. Yes, it's called hillwalking.

> Graham

And not hiking, that is for Amuricans.