UKC

DIY Advice Requested - Fixing Toilet Pan to Concrete Floor

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Yanis Nayu 04 Sep 2014
Our downstairs toilet pan was leaking, which took a while to notice, so it's caused the screed on the concrete floor to perish.

I've removed the old pan, cleaned the old screed away and replaced the pan with a new one. The DIY Gods have smiled down on me for once - I just offered it up to the pan connector and flush pipe from the low level cistern, it fitted a dream and the pan is now sitting on the concrete floor nice and level and without rocking. I've tried drilling a hole to screw it down but the concrete is like, well, concrete an bit's doing nothing and I'm shitting myself that I'll crack the pan.

My question is, is there anything wrong with pouring self-levelling compound down the screw holes to fill the gaps under the pan, and create sort of posts which will anchor the pan down? I've never used self-levelling compound before for anything, so I don't know what its properties are.

Thanks in advance.
 Jacob Ram 04 Sep 2014
In reply to Malcolm Tucker's Sweary Aunt:

Think you need to get a better drill , a good masonry drill bit will fly through concrete .

OP Yanis Nayu 04 Sep 2014
In reply to Jacob Ram:

I've got a brilliant drill - lent it to me brother...

Have to admit, I'm wary of cracking the pan.
interdit 04 Sep 2014

> I've got a brilliant drill - lent it to me brother...

Are you using a decent masonry drill bit as mentioned above - that is more important than the actual drill being used in regular concrete.

> Have to admit, I'm wary of cracking the pan.

Do not drill with the toilet in position!
Place the toilet in position temporarily - mark where the drill holes need to go, either by using a pencil or tapping a nail gently enough just to mark the concrete.
Move the toilet out of the way and then get drilling.
interdit 04 Sep 2014