UKC

Peer to peer lending as an investment?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Anyone got any stories of their experiences of this?

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/savings/peer-to-peer-lending#know
 BAdhoc 09 Sep 2014
In reply to Frank the Husky:

I've just put £100 on ratesetter. Been on a few months, small amount of interest. Easy transactions (my money is automatically put back on the market at either my set rate or the current average whichevers highest). Doing it more as a taster and a way to stop me spending it but seems a good company

It looks better than an ISA in regards to interest rates. But its not FSA protected, and for me its a big but...
 wintertree 09 Sep 2014

I've been putting some money into Ratesetter for 18 months or so.

It's not FSCS protected. They do have their own arrangements for missed payments (their "provision fund".) They give information on the administration of the fund, the current and projected default rates, and the size of the fund. After that you have to make a judgement for yourself on the security of your money. My uneducated feeling is that short term risk is similar to an index tracking stocks and shares ISA, as they're both only likely to see big losses if the economy takes a big turn for the worst. The difference with an index tracking ISA is that the ISA is likely to recover, whereas defaults under Ratesetter are lost.

If you're not sure about the term of investment, you should look into their liquidity / buy back options, it's got a pretty fair way of allowing you to retrospectively convert money from a high interest 5 year loan to a shorter term one if you need to pull money out early, with your profit being adjusted accordingly. Liquidity relies on new investment into the platform, which is not guaranteed. My feeling is that liquidity is going to be fine unless it all goes titsup.