UKC

Car Hire in Cape Town (Under 21's)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 seanwalsh 13 Sep 2014
Does anyone have any experience in hiring a car in Cape Town (to take to Rocklands) for Under 21's? I'm thinking of booking flights for next summer, but want to make sure this is a possibility and won't cost too much.

Thanks!
Sean
 Trangia 13 Sep 2014
In reply to seanwalsh:

As I'm over 21 I've no direct experience but everytime I've hired a car in Cape Town I've seen the requirement is over 25. I think you will struggle but good luck anyway.

If you do succeed by VERY careful of the small print relating to excess it tends to be very high in any event, and can be 100% for an accident on a gravel road.

The road from Clan William to Rocklands is gravel.
Rigid Raider 13 Sep 2014
In reply to seanwalsh:
Hmmmm.... I'd be more inclined to do the African thing and look around for a bloke with a car who wants to earn some cash. There must be thousands of perfectly honest Capetonians, white, brown or black, who would be happy to run you around for an agreed price for a few days. That takes away the worries about security and route finding.

Try Googling taxi services in Cape Town and sending out a few emails. Pound to a penny you'll get "official" refusals or high prices and then a day later the brother of one of the owners will make you a cheaper offer.
Post edited at 07:47
 James Malloch 14 Sep 2014
In reply to Trangia:
> The road from Clan William to Rocklands is gravel.

I returned from rocklands today and can say the road is very good and not gravel. But U21's could be expensive. You could possibly get a lift off someone else and then grab lifts to different areas from People you meet. Then if you can't get a lift the local areas (we stayed at de pakhuys) are great and walkable.
 Trangia 14 Sep 2014
In reply to James Malloch: