UKC

Etape Cymru

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kimono 15 Sep 2014
How did people get on?
My first ever road-sportive and i loved the experience.
Got a respectable 'moving' time of 5hr20min but made good use of the feed stations which added about another hour.

Not sure i would do it again however, as i found that it seems that in order to be a closed event, they have had to use some pretty bad roads.
My friend did it last year and said that there were some changes that were all for the worse in terms of some very dodgy downhill sections.

How did others find it?

richprideaux 15 Sep 2014
In reply to Kimono:

Most of the local residents were fairly unhappy, but I've heard good things from friends who entered!

I was a little further north helping out on the Ruthin MTB event
OP Kimono 15 Sep 2014
In reply to Kimono:

I'm a local resident and I was happy
 richprideaux 15 Sep 2014
In reply to Kimono:

I suspect you had more freedom of movement on the public highways that day than those who didn't take part :-p
OP Kimono 15 Sep 2014
In reply to richprideaux:

true...though we managed to hit endless roadblocks on the way to Bangor at 6 in the morning!
 ox 15 Sep 2014
In reply to Kimono:

It was good did it in 6hrs or 6.22 with stops i need to do a bit more training i found the hills hard but sure i will be back next year to try and beat my time.One down hill bit was a bone shaker but apart from that the roads are good,i saw a lot of crashes on the tight bends and was riding behind some one that looked beat up from a crash,just because no cars will be coming does not allow you to go round bends like a pro.
 richprideaux 15 Sep 2014
In reply to ox:

Did any cars make it past the closure signs? I know that was an issue on previous events.
OP Kimono 15 Sep 2014
In reply to ox:

i also saw a few crashes including a nasty one where the guy had landed on his face