UKC

Belay equipment, incompatible?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
BruceC 21 Sep 2014
Hello,

We were at a local climbing wall doing some lead and a member of staff came over to us and told us, quite rudely that my belay device and Karibiner were incompatible. He didn't go on to explain why or offer us to pay for one of theirs. He was pretty rude overall and we left as a result and may not be coming back.

However, i obviiously would like some advice as to if and why they are incompatible?

Belay device, black diamond ATC-XP: http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/black-diamond-atc-xp-2012-belay-device-e5210...

Karibener, Wild Coutry Titan: http://www.wildcountry.com/products/screwgate-karabiners/titan-keylock-scre...

I have been using this combination for a couple of years, with much more experienced climbers and no one has had a problem with it. Am i doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance...Bruce.
 Ciro 21 Sep 2014
In reply to BruceC:

The only explanation I can think of is the member of staff in question has been dabbling in hallucinogenic mushrooms at work.
 Nathan Adam 21 Sep 2014
In reply to BruceC:

Don't worry about climbing wall instructors giving you a hard time, I've had a guy at Ratho tell me it was wrong to belay off the rope loop instead of the belay loop on my harness..

The only possible thing I can see wrong with your set up is that the screwgate you have is not an HMS but know people who belay with a similar set up and it doesn't really bother me.

Go back and ask him why he thinks it isn't a suitable set up.
 DaveHK 21 Sep 2014
In reply to BruceC:

The only thing I can think of is that a biner with a pointy end like that one can stick up into the ATC and jam up when paying out. ATCs work best on something with a larger radius.

However, it's really minor and you obviously haven't had any trouble.
 gd303uk 21 Sep 2014
In reply to BruceC:
A screw gate with a good belay device, I cant imagine what the problem was.