UKC

on peak rock

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Tasered Baby 03 Oct 2014
Help help help
Was thinking of buying 'on peak rock' book but can anyone advise me of a book with photos rather than drawing. Im very new to climbing and want the best I can buy not the cheapest.
Thanks people.
Tim
 Michael Gordon 03 Oct 2014
In reply to Tasered Baby:

There are plenty photos in that book
 wilkie14c 03 Oct 2014

Its a nice if a little eccentric book. A good buy even though its old. The BMC chew book is very nice but maybe the wrong time of year for the moors. Burbage, milstone and beyond is a good one as are all the other BMC Peak books. Rockfax guides are pure climbing guides and the ones I choose to take to the crag but the BMC books are my coffee table books that I spend hours pouring over but don't take out of the house
Tasered Baby 03 Oct 2014
In reply to Michael Gordon:

Confused sir!! Only asked question because saw online it only has drawings not photos. Not actually seen a copy of book.
Proper thanks for replying.
Tim
 wilkie14c 03 Oct 2014

ITs a mixture of both, many action photos in colour and B&W and crag diagrams are indeed line drawings but these are some of the best I've seen and mini works of art in themselves.
 Blue Straggler 03 Oct 2014

The best you can buy is not a single book, though.
On Peak Rock covers (in less detail) areas that you would need to buy 4 - 10 books for if you wanted "the best you can buy". It is the book I bought when I was new to climbing, and I don't use it now as I have slowly built up my guide book collection. The drawings are good but as you imply, things have moved on a bit and photos with dotted lines are great.