UKC

Under-rated or little-known but amazing outdoor kit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
alexgoodey 04 Oct 2014
What have you purchased on a whim and been thoroughly impressed by? Or gadgets / clothing you've been given and realised you can't live without?

I bought a Z-packs rucksack - cost an arm and a leg but I love it to bits because it weighs less than 300 grams

Also very impressed with a ridulously cheap down sleeping bag I bought from Millets for £40.

Oh and a Shaven Raspberry timing card.. genius design but I think I've lost it
 Ciro 04 Oct 2014
In reply to alexgoodey:

Wild Climb shoes - I've been using the Panteras for a couple of years now, and they're an excellent shoe at a pretty decent price. Starting to see them at the crag a lot more in Italy but not in the UK yet.
 PPP 04 Oct 2014
In reply to alexgoodey:

LOMO dry bag style rucksacks. For that price, they are more than amazing and the company is few miles away from my house.

Alpkit stuff tends to be cheap but well made as well.
 marsbar 04 Oct 2014
In reply to PPP:

Lomo are great.
 Rick Graham 04 Oct 2014
In reply to marsbar:

> Lomo are great.

+1
 Blue Straggler 05 Oct 2014
In reply to PPP:

> the company is few miles away from my house.

Does that make it
"under-rated or little-known but amazing" ?

Would they be crap if they were 100 miles away? And really really crap if 300 miles away?
 Gazlynn 05 Oct 2014
In reply to Kai:

Offt $275 for a minimalist 40l sack is pretty expensive.

Could you elaborate on what makes these sacks better / at least twice the price of most other sack manufactures?

A genuine question.

Cheers

Gaz

needvert 05 Oct 2014
In reply to Kai:

I got the 55L. Best pack I've owned (which until the HMG arrived was a 30L cilogear, a very cool pack feature wise). HMG packs are good value imo.
 Kevster 05 Oct 2014
In reply to alexgoodey:

Not little known, but the best purchase for the year for climbing, not running.

Merrel trail gloves.