UKC

Moving to France - any advice?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 NigeR 25 Oct 2014

My wife and I are looking into moving to France next year, and I wondered whether anyone on UKC has made the move, or lives there?

I'm a writer by profession, so as long as I have internet access and it's not too far from an airport for trips back to the UK, I'm pretty flexible on location.

We are looking to buy a house, and while I can see a lot of the advantages, I'm sure there are some disadvantages too, so any info/advice would be most welcome.

I would add, that at present, our mastery of French is not good, but we would obviously look to learn the language.
Post edited at 15:50
 Doug 25 Oct 2014
In reply to NigeR:

There's quite a few of us, scattered pretty much across all of France. I live close to Paris (due to work) & although its good for airports, I wouldn't recommend it from a climbing point of view. Can't advise on buying but my experience on living here for some15 years is that speaking good French makes life much, much easier, both socially & for dealing with the administration, which isn't necessarily worse than the UK but is certainly different
 yorkshireman 26 Oct 2014
In reply to NigeR:

I've been living in the French Alps (an hour south of Grenoble) for 3 years now. I work in IT and travel quite a bit (about 20+ times a year) out of Lyon airport which is quite a drive, but the days I work from home make up for it. Remember that just having an airport nearby is not enough - ideally you want somewhere with enough flights to be worthwhile (don't rely on a shed in a field served only by Ryanair that might stop flying next year).